Homage to my new friend


The idea of travelling home from Ghana to Switzerland with a motor bike became more real when I finally bought one. Here she is a Honda Transalp, 600ccm, 1998, kilometer unknown ;-), 200 kg, consumption of 5.5 liter / 100 km and a range of about 320 km. I bought the machine in Accra for about 2’400 Swiss Francs.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Kobi, my wonderful friend and bike angel.

.

.

.

.

.

.

So for two month I was riding the bike to work and gained experience on crazy Accra roads.

.

.

.

.

.

.

With some small offroad adventures to the shoreline after work.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I also did smaller and lager trips to gain more experience. The big rehearsal was a two day trip to Lomé in Togo. About 400 km back and forth with highways and difficult dirt roads, rain, mud and night riding.

Off I go…

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Lomé at the beach…

.

.

.

.

.

.

… and the nightlife.

.

.

.

.

.

.

An officer stopped me on the way back. I thought: “Not a gain bargaining and bribing” (I didn’t have a bike driving licence then). But he just wanted a lift to the next town…

.

.

.

.

.

.

It’s a wonderful feeling to have a dirty bike… some of you might understand. I am the type that wants a machine that masters all terrains, speeding on the highways doesn’t give me the kick.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

But she’s also beautiful when she is clean. I got to like my bike, can you tell? 😉

.

.

.

.

~ by lifefragments on 18/08/2010.

Leave a Reply

 
